# Minutes of the 13<sup>th</sup> Special Council Meeting of the Local Council for Beaufort West held in the Council Chambers, 15 Church Street, Beaufort West on Monday, 18 September 2023 at 09:16

#### Present:

Alderman JJ Van Der Linde

Councillors EF Botha [Executive Mayor], LV Piti [Deputy Executive Mayor], N

Constable [Speaker], N Abrahams, CL De Bruin, LBJ Mdudumani, AM

Slabbert, SM Meyers, TCJ Prince

Absent: JDK Reynolds [apology]

R Skuza [apology] S Essop [apology]

In service: Acting Municipal Manager [DE Welgemoed], Director: Corporate Services

[AC Makendlana], Acting Director: Financial Services [M Nhlegethwa], Senior Manager: Technical Services [CB Wright], Senior Clerk:

Committees [LD Draghoender] and HR Intern [P Mpofu]

Absent: MC Tshibo [Acting Senior Manager: Community Services]

#### 1. OPENING AND WELCOMING

The Speaker welcomes all councillors and officials present in the meeting and requests Councillor LV Piti to open the meeting with prayer.

### 2. APOLOGIES

The following Councillors apologies were tabled:

- Councillor S Essop
- Councillor R Skuza
- Councillor JDK Reynolds

The Speaker reads into record that councillors must request a MS Teams link through him well in advance, if they wish to join the meeting virtually.

#### APPLICATION FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

COUNCILLOR	REASON	PERIOD OF LEAVE OF ABSENCE
AM Slabbert	Leave	26 September – 29 September 2023
JJ Van Der Linde	Leave	20 September 2023

Councillor EF Botha wish / congratulates Councillor AM Slabbert on her birthday, today 18 September 2023.

Minutes: 13th Special Council meeting of the Local Council for Beaufort West: Monday, 18 September 2023 at 09:16 // Notules: 13de Spesiale Raadsvergadering van die Plaaslike Raad vir Beaufort-Wes: Maandag, 18 September 2023 om 09:16

In accordance with Section 4(4) of the Rules of Order the Speaker informed Council that Items 6 on the Addendum Agenda will be discussed with Item 3 and therefore will be noted in the Minutes as Item 3.1.

# 3. REPLACEMENT OF THE PATRIOT ALLIANCE (PA) PR COUNCILLOR SAULS, WC053 BEAUFORT WEST

3/1/1/4

The Speaker reads into record that Councillor TCJ Prince is a Councillor in the Beaufort West Local Council effective 06 September 2023.

NOTED

### 3.1 OATH OF SOLEMN AFFIRMATION BY MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

2/3

The Speaker requests the Acting Municipal Manager to proceed with the oath of solemn affirmation by Councillor TCJ Prince to the council.

Councillor TCJ Prince takes the declaration of oath before the Acting Municipal Manager.

The Speaker thank the Acting Municipal Manager and congratulate Councillor TCJ Prince after taking the Oath.

**NOTED** 

## 4. REPLACEMENTS: CENTRAL KAROO DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY REPRESENTATIVE 3/1/2/1

dcs

That Councillor TCJ Prince replaces Councillor EF Botha at the Central Karoo District Municipality as stated in the letter attached as **Annexure 002 to 003** of the Agenda.

## 5. APPOINTMENT: SELECTION PANEL: DIRECTOR INFRASTRUCTURE SERVICES 4/3/2

Councillor LV Piti seconded by Councillor LBJ Mdudumani proposes:

### dcs/hrm

- 5.1 That the selection panel for the position of Director: Infrastructure Services in accordance with Regulation 12(4) will consist of the following members:
  - 5.1.1 Mr. De Welgemoed, the Acting Municipal Manager, who will be the Chairperson,
  - 5.1.2 Councilor CL De Bruin, the Chairperson of the Standing Committee: Infrastructure Services

3

Minutes: 13th Special Council meeting of the Local Council for Beaufort West: Monday, 18 September 2023 at 09:16 // Notules : 13de Spesiale Raadsvergadering van die Plaaslike Raad vir Beaufort-Wes: Maandag, 18 September 2023 om 09:16

- 5.1.3 Mr Z Nongene, Director: Infrastructure Services at Prince Albert Municipality.
- 5.2 That in the event of Mr Z Nongene not being available, Mr L Ntoni, Director: Infrastructure Services at Mangaung Municipality be nominated to serve on the Selection Panel for the position of Director: Infrastructure Services.

UNANIMOUSLY ACCEPTED THUS RESOLVED

N Constable [Speaker]	_	
Minutes approved this	day of	_ 2023.
The meeting closes at 09:34.		
The Speaker thank all for attendi	ing the meeting.	